Vitality Blast Final rematch to open twentieth release of the T20 rivalry

This year’s Vitality Blast marks the 20th edition of domestic T20 cricket with new branding for the competition unveiled today

The Vitality Blast will begin celebrations for the 20th edition of the Twenty20 competition with an opening-night rematch of last season’s final when champions Kent Spitfires host Somerset on 25 May.

A new Vitality Blast brand has today been unveiled alongside the schedule, to mark the world’s longest-running professional domestic Twenty20 competition turning 20.

The new brand highlights the dynamism and vibrancy that the Vitality Blast is famed for – fierce local rivalries, the forging of heroes, and also the celebratory atmosphere fans know and love.

This year the Vitality Blast’s rivalries are going to be packed into seven weeks of action because the 18 First-Class Counties bid to succeed in the already sold-out Finals Day at Edgbaston on 16 July.

Fans will get an early taste of 1 of the Vitality Blast’s most celebrated derbies with Lancashire Lightning hosting Yorkshire Vikings on the primary Friday night of the competition.

More preferred and fan-friendly timeslots also will be a feature of the group stage with 99 of the 126 matches to be played on a Thursday night, Friday night, or at the weekend.

There will even be 10 double-headers when the men’s Vitality Blast and women’s Charlotte Edwards Cup T20 matches are played back-to-back at the identical venue.

The Vitality Blast quarter-finals will begin three days after the group stage finishes, on 3 July, with Finals Day per week later.

That continuity will help make sure the Vitality Blast’s biggest overseas stars are often available for one of the most important days within the county calendar, with superstar names like Rashid Khan (Sussex Sharks), Carlos Brathwaite (Birmingham Bears), Marnus Labuschagne (Glamorgan), Shaheen Afridi (Middlesex), Qais Ahmed (Kent Spitfires) and Matthew Wade (Worcestershire Rapids) already signed up for the competition.

Darren Stevens is additionally set to end up for Kent Spitfires again, after playing a starring role in the Spitfires’ success last September, united of 5 players who played within the very first T20 season in 2003.

Current-day players Samit Patel (Notts Outlaws), Ravi Bopara (Sussex Sharks), Tim Bresnan (Birmingham Bears), and Tim Murtagh (Middlesex) were also involved in the first Twenty20 competition.

They will play alongside the likes of rising stars like Harry Brook (Yorkshire Vikings), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire Lightning), Tom Banton (Somerset), and George Garton (Sussex Sharks) who are currently with the Britain Men’s squad for his or her five-match Twenty20 series in the archipelago.

Supporters can have a Blast this summer at every home group stage match by buying their season tickets now. Visit for links to each team’s ticket pass and cash in multi-match savings.

Latest articles


Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here